NUMECA | Lifehacks

Tipps and Tricks by the NUMECA Team

While talking to our customers during training and support, we observed that many users face similar challenges. We answer some of these questions in our Lifehacks. Peppered with the tips and tricks that we also use when working on customer projects, they intended to simplify the introduction to the software and new modules even further.

Thematically, there is something for everything from design, grid generation and simulation to analysis. Some Lifehacks are for a specific industry, such as “Lifehack #11 | Propulsion modelling in ship simulations”, but for most of them, we use an example from a particular field, but the hack itself is industry-independent.

We are also happy to receive feedback on our Lifehacks. How do you find the idea and the format in general, and which additional topic interests you? Because we are constantly working on this format. We publish the latest hack in our monthly newsletter. Subscribe here, and you will never miss a Lifehack.

And as always, have fun watching and doing it yourself!

Lifehack #1

An Introduction to CFView™

German spoken

This life hack shows how you can visualise the results of turbomachinery simulations in CFView™. A special attention is paid to the blade-to-blade view, colour contours and the usage of shortcuts for more efficient work.

Lifehack #2

A short peak into AutoGrid5™

German spoken

The example of a centrifugal compressor is used to demonstrate the meshing with the help of the Wizzard in AutoGrid5™. The focus is on bulb meshing and manual adjustments of the cell distribution to improve the grid.

Lifehack #3

Automate your Workflows

English spoken

Automation speeds up processes and reduces the margin for human mistakes. For CFD related tasks, it can range from a simple action to a complete CFD workflow chain. This lifehack addresses the possibility to combine the NUMECA scripting language with a tailored graphic user interface and how you can take advantage of that feature.

Lifehack #4

AutoGrid5™ ZR-Effect

German spoken

Naturally, it would be favorable to consider seals and cavities during the CFD simulation of the turbomachine – but the meshing setup… For axisymmetric geometries the usage of a meridional effect (also called ZR-Effect) can make the meshing significantly easier. You will learn about this in our life hack. In the second part, we will demonstrate for two configurations, how the meridional effect could be attached to the main channel with a matching connection.

Lifehack #5

One Mesher - Two Interfaces

English spoken

Our unstructured meshing kernel has been given a second look with OMNIS™/Hexpress in addition to the classic HEXPRESS™/Hybrid interface. So, the question is: How do the workflows differ?
We answer that question by sharing our own experiences with you and compare some meshing process aspects. “One mesher – two interfaces”: The choice is yours. Due to the same meshing kernel and mesh setup, the resulting grid is independent of the interface.

Lifehack #6

Design Choices & Mesh Automation in OMNIS™

How can a simple automation for the study of geometry variation look like in OMNIS™?
We provide the answer here: We show you how to use Python to automate the process from geometry import to meshing and how to work efficiently with templates in the GUI. From partial to full automation in batch mode, everything is possible. The choice is entirely yours.

Lifehack #7

Nonlinear Harmonic Method

German spoken / English spoken

Nonlinear Harmonic Method (NLH): Which harmonics do I need? And how many at all? In the first part of Lifehack #8 will give some answers and provide you a script that will make it easier for you to estimate how many harmonics are necessary. In the second part we focus on the post-processing. Which harmonics do you see in the evaluation? How to prevent confusing the harmonics during the analysis? Or upgrade the presentation of the results with a reconstruction in time. Nothing is more vivid than moving images.

Lifehack #8

Intuitive Design of Turbomachines

English spoken

Our preliminary design tools enable you to design various types of turbomachinery very efficiently. We will demonstrate the most important features, which you should know in the meanline design tools form Concepts NREC. As an example, we give a brief introduction how to design a centrifugal compressor. In the second video we show you who to analyse, modify and improve the three-dimensional shape of this design in AxCent.
As an example, we use the centrifugal compressor from the last lifehack. And please stay tuned even if you are usually concerned with other turbomachinery applications.

Lifehack #9

A Glimpse on Overset Grids and AGR

English spoken

We show you when and how to use Overset Grids and Adaptive Grid Refinement (AGR) in your marine CFD simulations. Furthermore, we point out the advantages these two techniques provide.

Lifehack #10

AutoGrid Scripting: Classic vs OMNIS™-Style

German spoken

It doesn’t matter if you are thinking about starting to script or if you have already fully automated all your AutoGrid™ processes and are now venturing into OMNIS™. This Lifehack has something for everyone. We will show you how to load, start and debug a script in OMNIS™ and the essential components and commands of such a script. In addition, you will learn how to transfer your existing classic AutoGrid5™-scripts to OMNIS™.

Lifehack #11

Propulsion Modelling with Actuator Disk

English spoken

We have a close look at the propulsion modelling with the “Actuator Disk” in marine applications. Aside from the accurate capturing of the propulsion direction impact on the vessel motion, the usage of the actuator disk enables the analyses of the propeller-hull-interaction. For this approach, the meshing and simulation of the propeller are not necessary, which lead to a small computational effort compared to a propeller simulation with a sliding grid.

Lifehack #12

How to convert HEXPRESS™/Hybrid project into OMNIS™ project

English spoken

To enable you to take the knowledge and experience gained in meshing projects with HEXPRESS™/Hybrid into the OMNIS™ environment, we will show you how to quickly and efficiently convert your existing projects into OMNIS™ projects.

Lifehack #13

Creating a Template for Repeating CFD Design Tasks

German spoken

The use of the family tree shows its advantages, among other things, when creating templates for recurring tasks. The post-processing options have also expanded significantly over the past year. This includes co-processing, which enables evaluation during the simulation. Whether it is cross-sectional or 3D-view, rendering options or a cartesian plot of the pressure – in this lifehack we will show you how post-processing can be done with just a few clicks.

Newsletter Registration

Don't miss any more of our lifehacks!

Always be first to know when the NUMECA team gives exclusive insights into their work.

NUMECA | Lifehacks

Tipps und Tricks vom NUMECA Team

Im Gespräch mit unseren Kunden bei Schulungen und im Support haben wir festgestellt, dass sich viele Anwender anfangs recht ähnlichen Herausforderungen gegenübersehen. Einigen dieser Fragen gehen wir nun in unseren Lifehacks auf den Grund. Gespickt mit den Tipps und Tricks, die auch wir bei der Bearbeitung von Kundenprojekten anwenden, sollen sie den Einstieg in die Software und in neue Module noch weiter vereinfachen.

Thematisch ist von der Auslegung, über Vernetzung und Simulation bis zur Analyse von allem etwas dabei. Manche Lifehacks sind für eine bestimmte Branche wie „Lifehack #11 | Antriebsmodellierung bei Schiffssimulationen“, bei vielen verwenden wir zwar ein Beispiel aus einem bestimmten Bereich, aber der Hack an sich ist Branchen unabhängig.

Natürlich freuen wir uns auch über Feedback, zum einen, wie Sie generell die Idee und das Format finden, zum anderen aber auch, welche Themen Sie noch interessieren. Denn wir arbeiten kontinuierlich an diesem Format. Mit einer Anmeldung zu unserem monatlichen Newsletter können Sie sicher gehen keinen Lifehack mehr zu verpassen.

Und wie immer viel Spaß beim Ansehen und Nachmachen!

Lifehack #1

An Introduction to CFView™

Deutsch

Dieser Lifehack zeigt wie Sie in CFView™ die Ergebnisse von Turbomaschinensimulationen visualisieren können. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Blade-to-Blade Ansicht, der Darstellung mittels Konturplots und der Verwendung von Shortcuts für ein effizienteres Arbeiten.

Lifehack #2

A short peak into AutoGrid5™

Deutsch

Am Beispiel eines Radialverdichters wird die Vernetzung mit Hife des Wizzard in AutoGrid5™ gezeigt. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Bulb -Vernetzung und manuellen Anpassungen der Zellverteilung zur Netzverbesserung.

Lifehack #3

Automate your Workflows

Englisch

Automatisierung kann Prozesse beschleunigen und verringert den Spielraum für Flüchtigkeitsfehler. Für Aufgaben im CFD Bereich kann dies von einfachen Aktionen bis zum Setup des kompletten CFD Workflows reichen. Diese Lifehacks befassen sich mit der Möglichkeit, die NUMECA Skriptsprache mit einer maßgeschneiderten grafischen Eingabemaske zu kombinieren und wie Sie diese Funktion nutzen können.

Lifehack #4

AutoGrid5™ ZR-Effect

Deutsch

Tja, eigentlich wäre es ja schon sinnvoll, wenn diese Dichtung, der Radseitenraum bzw. die Kavität bei der CFD Simulation der Turbomaschine berücksichtigt würden, aber die Vernetzung… Bei rotationssymmetrischen Geometrien kann die Verwendung eines meridional-Effektes (auch ZR-Effect genannt), die Vernetzung erheblich erleichtern. Wie das geht lernen Sie im Lifehack kennen. Im zweiten Teil zeigen wir Ihnen an zwei Konfigurationen, wie der meridional-Effekt knotenkonform an das Netz des Hauptkanals angeschlossen werden kann.

Lifehack #5

One Mesher - Two Interfaces

Englisch

Unser unstrukturierter Vernetzungskernel hat neben dem klassischen HEXPRESS™/Hybrid Interface mit OMNIS™/Hexpress ein zweites Gesicht bekommen. Die Frage, die ist: Wie unterscheiden sich die Arbeitsweisen mit den unterschiedlichen Interfaces?
Wir lassen Sie an unseren Erfahrungen teilhaben und ziehen für einige Aspekte im Vernetzungsprozess den Vergleich. Die Wahl des Interfaces bleibt Ihnen überlassen. „One Mesher – two Interfaces“ bedeutet für Sie: bei gleichem Vernetzungskernel ist das Vernetzungsergebnis bei selbem Netz-Setup interfaceunabhängig.

Lifehack #6

Design Choices & Mesh Automation in OMNIS™

Englisch

Wie kann eine einfache und unkomplizierte Automatisierung für die Untersuchung von Geometrievariation in OMNIS™ aussehen?
Die Antwort geben wir hier: Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie Sie mit Python den Prozess vom Geometrie-Import bis zur Vernetzung automatisieren und wie Sie im GUI effizient mit Templates arbeiten. Von der Teilautomatisierung bis hin zur Vollautomatisierung im Batch Mode ist alles möglich. Die Wahl liegt ganz bei Ihnen.

Lifehack #7

Nonlinear Harmonic Method

Deutsch / Englisch

Nonlinear Harmonic Method (NLH): Welche Harmonische brauche ich wirklich? Und wie viele überhaupt? Im ersten Teil des Lifehacks geben wir Antworten darauf und Ihnen ein Skript an die Hand, welches es Ihnen erleichtert abzuschätzen, wie viele Harmonische nötig sind. Im zweiten Teil geht es um das Post-Processing. Welche Harmonischen haben Sie in der Auswertung? Wie vermeiden Sie, dass Sie die Harmonischen bei der Auswertung verwechseln? Und werten Sie die Präsentation der Ergebnisse mit einer zeitlichen Rekonstruktion auf – nichts ist anschaulicher als bewegte Bilder.

Lifehack #8

Intuitive Design of Turbomachines

Englisch

Unsere Vorauslegungstools für Design und Analyse können Sie bei der Auslegung verschiedenster Turbomaschinen nicht nur unterstützen, sondern diese auch beschleunigen. Wir zeigen Ihnen die wichtigsten Features, die Sie in den 1D Vorauslegungstools von Concepts NREC kennen sollten. Im Zweiten Video zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie die 3D Geometrie aus der 1D Vorauslegung weiter analysieren, verfeinern und verbessern können. Dazu geht es in AxCent von Concepts NREC.
Das Beispiel bleibt eine Radialverdichterstufe, aber zögern Sie nicht, wenn es sich bei Ihrem Produkt um einen anderen Anwendungsfall handelt.

Lifehack #9

A Glimpse on Overset Grids and AGR

Englisch

Wir zeigen Ihnen, wann und wie Sie Overset Grids und Adaptive Grid Refinement (AGR) in Ihren Marine Simulationen einsetzen können. Außerdem gehen wir auf die Vorteile ein, die die beide Methoden bieten.

Lifehack #10

AutoGrid Scripting: Classic vs OMNIS™-Style

Deutsch

Egal, ob Sie gerade überlegen, mit dem Skripten zu beginnen oder bereits all Ihre AutoGrid™-Prozesse vollautomatisiert haben und sich jetzt an OMNIS™ wagen – dieser Lifehack hält für jeden etwas bereit. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie Sie in OMNIS™ ein Skript laden, starten und debuggen können und natürlich auch die wesentlichen Bestandteile und Befehle eines solchen Skripts. Zusätzlich erfahren Sie, wie Sie Ihre bereits vorhandenen klassischen AutoGrid5™-Skripte nach OMNIS™ übertragen können.

Lifehack #11

Propulsion Modelling with Actuator Disk

Englisch

Die Antriebsmodellierung unter Verwendung der „Actuator Disk“ bei Simulationen in der Schifffahrt ist Thema dieses Lifehacks. Neben der akkuraten Erfassung des Einflusses auf die Schiffsbewegung durch die Antriebsausrichtung, ermöglicht die Verwendung der Actuator Disk Funktion auch die Analyse der Propeller-Rumpf-Interaktion. Der Vorteil dieser Modellierung im Vergleich zur Verwendung von „Sliding Grid“ ist, dass der Propeller weder vernetzt noch simuliert werden muss, wodurch sich die Vorbereitungszeit und die CPU-Kosten verringern.  

Lifehack #12

How to convert HEXPRESS™/Hybrid project into OMNIS™ project

Englisch

Damit Sie das Wissen und die Erfahrung, die in den Vernetzungsprojekten mit HEXPRESS™/Hybrid stecken, auch in die OMNIS™ Umgebung mitnehmen können, zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie schnell und effizient Ihre vorhandenen Projekte in OMNIS™ Projekte umwandeln können.

Lifehack #13

Creating a Template for Repeating CFD Design Tasks

Deutsch

Die Verwendung des Family Trees zeigt unteranderem bei der Erstellung von Templates für wiederkehrende Aufgaben seine Vorzüge. Auch die Post-Processing Möglichkeiten haben sich im letzten Jahr deutlich erweitert. Dazu gehört das Co-Processing, das die Auswertung während der Simulation ermöglicht. Ob Schnitteben oder 3D-Ansicht, Rendering Optionen oder ein kartesischer Plot des Drucks – wir zeigen Ihnen wie die Auswertung mit wenigen Klicks gelingt.

Anmeldung NUMECA Lifehack

Verpassen Sie keinen unserer Lifehacks mehr!

Seien Sie immer mit als erstes informiert, wenn das Team von NUMECA exklusive Einblicke in seine Arbeit gibt.